Adverts Space

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Prof. Frimpong-Boateng, Okyeame Kwame & Others Honoured At PCP Honours

The People's Choice Practitioners Awards, organised by Media Men Ghana has on Friday, 14th April 2017 honoured a number of Ghanaian individuals and groups contributing to the learning and practice of health in Ghana.

The event, graced by his Majesty Otumfuo Osei Tutu II and chaired by Prof. Joseph Acheampong brought together distinguished personalities at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Kumasi. The award scheme in its maiden edition, is a national medico-social initiative geared towards celebrating excellence in the health sector.

Prominent among the awardees is renowned heart surgeon and Minister for Environment, Science and Technology, Hon. Professor Kwabena Frimpong Boateng who was awarded "Legend of the Year"; musician and Hepatitis B icon, Okyeame Kwame who received "Outstanding Health Ambassador".

The scheme saw other notable Ghanaian winners in varying disciplines of health which includes Bishop Dag Heward Mills, DCOP Dr Ebenezer Ewusi-Emmim, Dr Mike Agyekum Addo, Dr. Bryite Asamoah, Dr. Ellen Boakye, Dr. Kwaku Oteng, Dr. Osei Kwame Despite, Dr. Richard Selormey, Sara Nana Yeboah and Ellen Boakye and many others.
The ultimate chief celebrant, Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng is the pioneer of Ghana’s first cardiothoracic centre. He was presented with a  24 quartz gold medal, a brass bust of him including him being named after a state of the art first aid centre constituting three ultra-modern Ambulances and a helicopter ambulance.

This honour will be one of other numerous laurels for versatile rapper and philanthropist Okyeame Kwame for his corporate social responsibility through his Hepatitis B since 2009. A month ago, he, for the same reason received the key to the city of Cincinnati.

See full list of awardees below:


1.       Social Media Health Advocate
Benson Owusu

2.       Health App
Bisa App

3.       Forces Clinician
Dcop Dr Ebenezer Ewusi-Emmim

4.       Health Advocate–Social Event
Despite Group Blood Donation

5.       Pharmacist of the Year
Dr Agyekum Addo

6.       Versatile Clinician
Dr Mrs Gyikua Plange-Rhule

7.       Medical Officer
Dr Tabitha Botchway

8.       Health Advocate–Clinician
Dr. Bryite Asamoah

9.       Specialist Clinician
Dr. Daniel Kwesi Sabbah

Private Practice Clinician
Dr. Edward Mahama

10.   Medical Student
Dr. Ellen Boakye

11.   Herbal Clinician
Dr. Kwaku Oteng

12.   Health Citizen
Dr. Osei Kwame Despite

13.   Locally Produced Drug

14.   Local Pharmaceutical Institution
Ernest Chemist

15.   Health Intern
Faustina Awuni Teni

16.   House Officer
 Dr. Caleb Otu-Ansah

17.   Physician Assistant
Gloria Cabornu

18.   Health Food Product

19.   Private Health Facility
Holy Trinity Medical Centre/Spa

20.   Pharmaceutical Rep
Kwesi Pratt Yamoah

21.   Certified Registered Anesthetist
Samuel Assibi Akparibo

22.   Health Advocate–Media Program
Vodafone Healthline

23.   Associate Clinician – Allied Sciences
Naana Debrah

24.   Health Ambassador
Okyeame Kwame

25.   Unparalleled Rural Health Facility
Pediatorkope Hospital

26.   Health Advocate–Pharmaceutical

27.   Legend of the Year
Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng

28.   Herbal Health product

Pure Noni Juice

29.   PCP Clinician Leadership Award
Richard Selormey

30.   Most Urbanised health Facility
Ridge Hospital

31.   Associate Clinician – Ward
Sara Nana Yeboah

32.   Health Management Team
Tamale Teaching Hospital

33.   Most Prescribed Foreign Drug

Longest running Media health event
TV3 Blood Donation Exercise

34.   Health Advocate–Media Institution

35.   Philanthropic and health Support Institution
Vodafone Ghana